Best Car Insurance Rates In Virginia

Virginia Insurance Requirements

Minimum insurance rates in Virginia require:

$25,000 bodily injury per person

$50,000 per accident

$20,000 property damage

The state of Virginia allows drivers to pay a $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle fee if they want to drive without insurance, and at their own risk. This fee has to be renewed when the car registration expires. Drivers that do not carry auto insurance, or pay the state fee can have their driver’s license suspended, be required to fill out a SR-22, or financial responsibility insurance certificate, and pay a reinstatement fee.

Virginia requires that car insurance policies include:

Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability: this covers the driver if they are responsible for causing injury or damage to another person or property. Under insured/uninsured Coverage: Under insured pays if you are involved in an accident and the other driver doesn’t have enough coverage to pay for damages. Uninsured covers if you are in an accident and the driver has no coverage.

Virginia State Law: How It Affects You

There are several laws that are important to remember when shopping for car insurance in Virginia. Car insurance rates are based on driving records, and if these laws are broken they can affect your auto insurance rate.

In Virginia a DUI is considered a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08%. A BAC over 0.15% increases the penalty for DUI. Virginia has several cell phone/texting laws that prohibit drivers from using a cell phone while driving. Teen’s can drive with a permit at 15 years and 6 months. The state of Virginia uses a Graduated Driver Licensing system for teen drivers. Visit a local DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) office to get more information about licensing your teen driver.

The state of Virginia wants to help drivers get reliable, and affordable car insurance. A quick search on the state of Virginia’s DMV site will connect you with valuable information on shopping for car insurance. A quick web search will connect you to the auto insurance companies in the state that you can get quotes from. The state of Virginia has also established the State Corporation Commission which provides guides, resources, and information on vehicle insurance companies. This is a good website to visit when preparing to shop for car insurance in Virginia.

Now that you are equipped with the information you need about car insurance, in Virginia, then chose at least three companies to get car quotes from, and begin shopping. With a little information and some time you can get the best car insurance rate in Virginia, and be on your way to safe driving.

Car Auto

Let’s Learn More About How to Get Cheap Auto Insurance

Do you have the right car insurance? Well, many people think that it is a must to have the right car insurance. It will be better if you get the best one with cheap auto insurance. While most people know whether they have liability, collision or comprehensive coverage, some people pay much attention to their […]

Read More
Car Auto

Purchasing the Best Car Insurance

In the past, car insurance was not a necessity, as some people went for it and some did not. However, today an auto coverage policy is one of the crucial things in your life, if you own a car. People need proper coverage, no matter how luxurious or modest their car is. The way people […]

Read More
Car Auto

How Mobile Telematics Are Making Our Roads Safer

One of the trademarks of car insurance in the twenty-first century is the fact that there truly isn’t one — that is, the landscape of auto insurance is constantly evolving with new technologies every day. Here, we explore how mobile telematics solutions are the key to helping not just your auto insurance business stay ahead […]

Read More